Christmas 2026
Best 3D pen for kids: our Christmas 2026 ranking and buying guide
The best 3D pen for kids this Christmas is, on our criteria, the one whose tip temperature is published and verified, that a child of 6 can use on their own, and that comes with enough filament and models to still be in use in February. On those facts our first place goes to the Pen'Up 3D Complete Christmas Pack (€99.99, price checked on penup3d.com): a tip that never exceeds 35 °C, verified in a laboratory, 18 spools, three booklets and the lifetime warranty.
In short
- Our number one: the Pen'Up 3D Complete Christmas Pack at €99.99: tip at 35 °C maximum, verified in a laboratory, 18 Fil'Up spools, three booklets, lifetime warranty included.
- The familiar alternative: 3Doodler Start+, Essentials set at 59.99 US dollars on the maker's site (checked on 8 November 2026), no temperature figure published there.
- Ordering from abroad: Pen'Up 3D sells directly on penup3d.com, priced in euros; check the delivery conditions for your country there first.
What makes the best 3D pen for kids: six criteria
A 3D pen for a child warms a filament, often runs on a battery and gets used for months, so we judge it on six criteria, in this order: tip temperature, age fit, refills, cordless use, support and warranty, with price counted last over a year of refills. The useful question is not which pen is "safe" but whether the maker publishes a tip temperature and who verified it. Our how-to-choose guide explains each criterion in depth and our evergreen comparison applies them all year round; this page is the Christmas 2026 update.
1. Pen'Up 3D: first on the facts
Temperature. The tip never exceeds 35 °C, a value verified in a laboratory, so there is no risk of burns in normal use. The pen complies with the applicable requirements, carries the CE marking and is EN71 tested (see our safety guide).
Age. From age 6 the child creates on their own, with no upper age limit. Not suitable under 36 months.
In the hand. White, 45 g, about 14 cm, two speeds, for left- and right-handed children, automatic sleep after 2 minutes. About an hour cordless, about an hour to charge by USB-C on a 1.50 m cable, usable while charging.
In the box. The Complete Christmas Pack: the pen, the 1.50 m USB-C cable, 18 Fil'Up spools of 10 m (180 m, including 7 new colours), three booklets (Discovery, 30 models; Expert 3D, 17 models; Farm Animals, 20 models, included free), 2 Pad'Up stencils, 3 finger guards, and the lifetime warranty included.
Trust. A French brand, developed in France, rated 4.85/5 on more than 2,400 verified reviews (Judge.me), more than 25,000 families, Prix de l'Audace 2023.
Its limits. The highest price displayed in this comparison for the Complete Pack (MYNT3D Junior showed no price), refills from the Fil'Up range made for it, and a battery of about an hour, so a long session is done with the cable plugged in.
The alternatives, ranked honestly
We have not tested either pen: their figures come from each maker's website, checked on 8 November 2026.
2. 3Doodler Start+, the alternative with a published age rating from 6. The maker's Start+ page lists the pen for ages 6 and up, the Start+ Essentials set at 59.99 US dollars, the All-in-One Creator Kit at 79.99 US dollars (the3doodler.com, checked on 8 November 2026). It describes a low-temperature nozzle with no hot external parts; the maker publishes no temperature figure on that page. The same page lists 3Doodler-branded refills for it; battery life and warranty terms are not stated on the page checked. Good if you want a second children's pen with an age rating from 6 on the maker's site.
3. MYNT3D Junior, listed as sold out. On the maker's collection page checked on 8 November 2026 (mynt3d.com), both Junior models were listed as sold out with no price displayed; the maker describes it as a children's pen, and filament type, temperature and age are not stated there. One to look at again once it is back in stock and its specifications are published.
The comparison table
| Criterion | 1. Pen'Up 3DOur pick | 2. 3Doodler Start+ | 3. MYNT3D Junior |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tip temperature | 35 °C maximum, verified in a laboratory | No figure published by the maker (page checked on 8 November 2026) | Not stated on the page checked |
| Recommended age | From 6, on their own; no upper limit | 6 and up | Not stated on the page checked |
| In the box and refills | 18 spools, 3 booklets, 2 stencils, 3 finger guards; Fil'Up refills sold in sets of 3 and 12 | Varies by set; 3Doodler-branded refills listed on the maker's page | Not stated on the page checked |
| Cordless use | About 1 h, usable while charging | Not stated on the page checked | Not stated on the page checked |
| Warranty | Lifetime, included with the Complete and Maxi Christmas Packs, otherwise a €19.99 option | Check the maker's terms | Check the maker's terms |
| Price | €99.99 Complete Pack, €49.99 pen alone | 59.99 to 79.99 US dollars per set (8 November 2026) | Not displayed; sold out on 8 November 2026 |
Pen'Up 3D prices checked on penup3d.com. Other brands: each manufacturer's website, checked on 8 November 2026; prices in the currency each site displays, subject to change. Factual comparison, no disparagement intended.
Which Pen'Up 3D pack to put under the tree
- Discovery Pack (€69.99): pen, cable, 4 spools, the Discovery booklet (30 models), 2 stencils and finger guards. For a first try. Lifetime warranty as a €19.99 option.
- Complete Christmas Pack (€99.99): our recommendation for a gift, with 18 spools, the three booklets and the lifetime warranty included (product page on penup3d.com).
- Maxi Christmas Pack (€129.99): the Complete Christmas Pack plus one kit of your choice, the Mechanical Kit (20 creations to set in motion) or the Floral Kit (17 flowers, on preorder), for a child who will want a bigger project by Boxing Day. Sold on their own (€39.99 and €39.99), these kits do not include the pen.
Reading from the UK, Ireland or the United States? Pen'Up 3D sells directly on penup3d.com, priced in euros, with support in France that replies within 24 hours. Delivery times and countries change, so check the delivery conditions for your address on penup3d.com before you order. Our gift guide covers the day itself, from charging the pen before wrapping it to the first template.
Refills and the cost after Christmas
The real price shows over a year. Fil'Up spools are made for the pen and mainly composed of polycaprolactone; they melt at around 60 °C inside the pen while the tip stays at 35 °C maximum, and Fil'Up refills do not give off toxic fumes. A set of 3 spools costs €7.99, about €2.66 per spool; with 18 spools in the Complete Pack, the first top-up is a long way off. Our refills guide does the arithmetic.
The lifetime warranty is included with the Complete and Maxi Christmas Packs, otherwise a €19.99 option: an exchange of the pen, never a refund, on top of the legal 2-year warranty. For the other brands, read the maker's and the shop's terms before buying.
Our verdict
For a child of 6 and over, the best 3D pen for kids this Christmas 2026 is, on our criteria, the Pen'Up 3D Complete Christmas Pack: a tip at 35 °C maximum verified in a laboratory, independence from age 6, three booklets in the box and the lifetime warranty included. 3Doodler Start+ suits a family that wants another children's pen with a published age rating from 6; MYNT3D Junior was listed as sold out when we checked.
Comparison written by the Pen'Up 3D team, maker of the pen compared, from the data published by each manufacturer.
Questions parents ask
What is the best 3D pen for children?
On our criteria, Pen'Up 3D, and for Christmas the Complete Christmas Pack at €99.99: a tip that never exceeds 35 °C (verified in a laboratory), independence from age 6, 18 spools, three booklets and the lifetime warranty. 3Doodler Start+ is the alternative with a published age rating from 6; MYNT3D Junior was sold out when we checked.
What is the best 3D pen for kids in the UK?
Same criteria: a published, verified tip temperature, an age fit from 6, refills you can buy again, support that answers. 3Doodler Start+ is the alternative with a published age rating from 6; its maker's site lists sets from 59.99 US dollars (checked on 8 November 2026). Pen'Up 3D is sold directly on penup3d.com in euros; check the delivery conditions for the UK there before ordering.
Is a 3D pen suitable for a 7 year old?
Yes, with a low-temperature children's pen. From age 6 a child creates on their own with Pen'Up 3D; at 7, traced models from the Discovery booklet and the Pad'Up stencils give quick, flat successes before free-standing shapes. Our by-age guide lists realistic projects for each age.
Which 3D pen for an 8 or 10 year old?
Same pen, bigger projects. From around 8, projects can lift off the page, where the Expert 3D booklet (17 models) in the Complete Pack earns its place. At 10 and over, the Maxi Christmas Pack adds a Mechanical Kit or a Floral Kit for a project over several sessions. There is no upper age limit.
Are 3D pens worth it for kids?
For a child who likes making things, yes: as our benefits guide sets out, a 3D pen gives practice in fine motor control and spatial reasoning, and ends in an object they keep, with no screen involved. Two conditions: a tip temperature you can trust, and enough filament and models to last past January.
Ready to compare? See our pick and the full table.
Back to the comparison